AfterShock Comics

The Ogre's Staff Picks (08/23/2017)

From one crazy weekend to the next with a few Staff Picks in-between. Here are the books we think you should already be reading!

Gib's Pick

Inhumans By Paul Jenkins and Jae Lee TP

Gib's Pick

The Inhumans were never that interesting to me, until I read Paul Jenkin's (Alters, Replica) Inhumans.  He made their world far more interesting and I cared about the characters for the first time.  Jae Lee's (Batman/Superman N52) art on this series is phenomenal, he absolutely makes this story special.  This book is a great read

The AfterShock North American Tour will be at The Ogre this Saturday (08/26), bringing along Paul Jenkins and Joe Pruett (Black Eyed Kids) for a Special Signing Event!

Lauren's Pick

My Pretty Vampire GN

Lauren's Pick

The incredible Katie Skelly (Operation Margarine) explores complex themes of love and possession in this delightfully self-aware spin on vampire fiction. A pampered prisoner in her brother’s richly decorated mansion, the vampiric Clover is as ageless and beautiful as the statues that populate her environment. Guided by thirst and governed by her instinctive need to survive, Clover embarks on a blood-soaked odyssey through the mortal world. Skelly is one of my top favorite cartoonists working today for her varied depictions of women on journeys of accidental self-discovery, and My Pretty Vampire certainly does not disappoint! Her talent as an artist and designer is on full display in this book, particularly in the ambiguous dream sequences providing hints at the main character's past. Also, there are many excellent color schemes and cute outfits, so really nobody has an excuse not to buy this book.

Mike's Pick

Scalped HC Book 1 Deluxe Edition

Mike's Pick

Blending Noir with the Western, Scalped is the story of various fascinating characters that inhabit the Prairie Rose Reservation.  Issues of race, poverty, and addiction are explored in a thrilling crime/action milieu by series creators Jason Aaron (Southern Bastards) and RM Guera (The Goddamned).  The flawed Dash Bad Horse is our window into this world as he infiltrates Chief Lincoln Red Crow’s criminal organization.  Those looking for straight up “good guys” and “bad guys” need not apply, though, as morality gets as murky as a dirty (and bloody) creek bed.  The writing is as good as it gets in comics and Guera’s art evokes the best Spaghetti Westerns.  Violent and complex, Scalped is one of my all-time favorite series.

 
Sarah's Pick

DC Comics Bombshells Vol 1

 

Sarah's Pick

Do you like the movie A League of Their Own? Have you ever found yourself wondering "What if the Rockford Peaches were also vigilantes who fought the Nazi regime in-between games?” WONDER NO MORE. DC Comics Bombshells is the book for you! The team is led by Kate Kane (aka Batwoman) in Gotham City, her fellow “Batgirls,” Wonder Woman, Supergirl, Stargirl, and Mera, who band together to defeat the growing forces of fascism amidst the backdrop of WWII. Based on the bombshell pin up designs from Ant Lucia and written by Marguerite Bennet (Animosity, Batwoman - Rebirth), this book is beautiful, fun, smart, topical, and gay.

That is all for this week! Well... At least here. Come on into the store and we can hand you more fantastic books just like these!

The Ogre's Staff Picks (08/10/2017)

Phew! We have been busy. WizardWorld Columbus last wee, the Moonstruck Signing two weeks ago plus the #CurseWordsVanTour this weekend! Yet, even with all the happenings, Staff Picks must go on!

Harrow County TP Vol 1

Gib's Pick

Cullen Bunn (Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe) and Tyler Crook (B.P.R.D. Hell on Earth) introduce us to Emmy in Harrow County Vol 01, Countless Haints.  Emmy finds out that she has ties to the strange and creepy things living in the woods.  There's a lot about her community she doesn't know, and the more she finds out, the weirder things get.  Cullen starts us on another epic journey through his imagination.  Like his Sixth Gun, the longer the journey, the more intriguing the world.  The art is both charming and creepy, not the easiest thing to pull off.  The first volume is very good and by volume three this series is great!

STL055684.jpg

And don't miss Dark Ark #1 shipping on 9/20.  Cullen Bunn and Juan Doe (World Reader) tell us the story of the ark that saved all the "other" creatures from the flood.  Vampires, manticores, dragons and more were on a second ark.  The sorcerer Shrae must keep these creatures alive, and keep them away from the other ark if he's to receive his reward from his dark master. Come in and place your pre-order today.

Lauren's Pick

Deadly Class TP Vol 1

Lauren's Pick

It’s 1987 and things are not looking awesome for Marcus Lopez Arguello. He’s homeless, his parents are dead, and as if things weren’t bad enough someone just stole his shoes. If there’s one thing he really doesn’t need, it’s lessons on how to kill people. But that’s exactly what he’s going to get! Rick Remender (Captain America, Black Science) is in his element channeling his own punk-rock adolescence with admirable assist by artist Wes Craig (Blackhand Comics). However, colorist Lee Loughridge (Wolf) remains the true MVP of this creative team, providing color schemes dramatic enough to match the events of this wild ride.

Mike's Pick

A God Somewhere

Mike's Pick

Exploring religion, racism, morality, and family dynamics, A God Somewhere by John Arcudi (Rumble) and Peter Snejbjerg (Starman) is a bit of a hidden gem.  Initially published as an OGN by Wildstorm in 2010, this Vertigo book explores what happens to an everyman when he’s inexplicably bestowed with godlike powers.  Existential and ambiguous, this violent and moody tale tracks the downfall of the ubermensch and the impact he has on his friends and family as his powers lead to alienation and mass murder.  A God Somewhere asks many questions but, I think, leaves it to the reader to decide if there are any answers.  If you don’t want to look that deep, though, the book still offers a solid sci fi story told well.  Recommended for fans of Watchmen, Astro City, and Philip Wylie’s novel, Gladiator.

We have more staff picks to come, so keep your eyes here. Or come in for a visit and we can talk you into even more great stories!